Customer journey management: From touchpoints to stories to convincing customer experiences

Customer journey management:
From touchpoints to stories
to convincing customer experiences

Customer experiences with a wow effect through customer journey management

You seek to create impressive customer experiences in order to win over loyal customers and to rise above the competition? Customers today are demanding. On their journey from need to purchase and beyond they expect a uniform, relevant and personal customer experience – across all touchpoints and organizational boundaries. Your customers gather impressions with every interaction with your company and thereby form their opinion of you and your services. Customers share their positive and negative experiences they have in the course of their customer journey with others: a poor rating, an enthusiastic tweet, a recommendation to a friend. With professional customer journey management you determine where points of friction arise or where journeys are broken off. You receive tips about the “golden path to greater success”, receive an overview across your touchpoints, and design convincing customer experiences.

Design customer journeys: Your challenge, our area of expertise

Digitization has fundamentally changed the work of marketeers and the expectations for marketing. The number of company internal and external touchpoints is constantly growing. Your customers expect you to recognize their needs, wishes and problems and to provide them with individual service. They demand immediate service according to the motto: “me, everything, immediately and everywhere”. Your superiors want to see results. You can get a handle on both with professional customer journey management.

End-to-end and across touchpoints

Customer journey management is more than the optimization of individual touchpoints. It is all about telling stories across silos and channels with a clearly defined beginning and end, creating experiences that last. Customer journey management means recognizing your customers’ needs, wishes and expectations, designing the journey and making sure that each customer’s personal journey is supported from A to Z. Because, regardless of the path taken, his or her customer journey must be continuous and consistent.

From touchpoints through journeys to customer experience

Customer journey management begins with identification of all relevant touchpoints. Customer journeys can only be successfully planned and implemented when you know where your customers interact with you, what this interaction looks like, and what experiences are gathered along the way. This is because customer journeys generally begin well before the actual product purchase or the use of a service, and can vary in terms of length and complexity. Successful customer journey management ultimately leads to a positive customer experience, as well as an overall impression which customers gain based on all the experiences with the company that are significant for them.

Successful customer journey management takes into account the fact that customer journeys often begin before the actual product purchase, then continue on and frequently encompass multiple touchpoints, both internal and external to the company.

5 arguments in favor of professional customer journey management

  • Synchronization of the interactions at individual touchpoints for a consistent overall impression
  • Greater customer satisfaction through individual support from start to finish
  • Positive impact on sales, retention and service costs
  • Creation of a positive customer experience and an increase in customer loyalty
  • Opportunities to differentiate from competitors

What is a customer journey actually?

The customer journey ranges from the first encounter with a brand or product, through the identification of requirements and the purchase, on to the use of the product or service, as well as the phase thereafter. It comprises a succession of touchpoints and has a clearly defined beginning and end.

“Customer journeys include many things that happen before, during, and after the experience of a product or service. Journeys can be long, stretching across multiple channels and touchpoints, and often lasting days or weeks.”

McKinsey & Company, 2016«From touchpoints to journeys: seeing the world as customers do»

How does successful customer journey management work?

Customer journey management begins in the boardroom: the mission can only succeed when decision-makers are convinced that a company’s consistent orientation should be on customers. The next step is to determine the relevant company touchpoints. Then you must evaluate which experiences your customers have with your company. To find out what motivates your customers, you must ask questions, listen carefully and centrally manage customer feedback. These insights can then be used to develop appropriate customer journeys. Helpful in the process are intelligent tools, in which all your company’s touchpoints and channels flow together and customer data is stored centrally. These tools evaluate the data and show you how, where and when you can impress your customers. This paves the way to the wow effect.

“Only by looking at the customer’s experience through his or her own eyes – along the entire journey taken – can you really begin to understand how to meaningfully improve performance.”

McKinsey & Company, 2016«From touchpoints to journeys: seeing the world as customers do»

Put your customer glasses on please!

Do you know when, why and through which channel a customer comes into contact with your company? Precisely why does he buy from you? Do your communication, sales and service channels harmonize with each other? Do you provide experiences that not only satisfy customers, but inspire them? With these questions you start your journey in the direction of individualized customer journeys. Wearing customer glasses is the starting point for professional customer journey management.

Customer journey management – step by step:

  1. Commitment to the mission “put on your customer glasses”
  2. Encourage cross-division and departmental collaboration
  3. Recognize customer needs and take them seriously
  4. Identify pleasure points and pain points
  5. Determine and depict touchpoints and compile data
  6. Evaluate software for customer journey management
  7. Design customer journeys with appropriate tools
  8. Automatically conduct and optimize customer journeys in the tool
  9. Measure, compare and learn from the success of customer journeys
  10. Impress customers with personalized, customized customer journeys
No two customer journeys are alike. Professional customer journey management takes this fact into account and enables customized customer journeys with a wow effect.

Reading recommendation: In our customer loyalty study, you can learn how customers become brand ambassadors.

Explore study

Manage customer journeys now!

Would you like to set up a consultation appointment to discuss customer journey management? We will be pleased to show you how you can use BSI Studio to design, automatically execute and monitor customized, consistent and relevant customer journeys.

Send a request

contact form

Which tool to use for customer journey management?

With BSI Studio, the platform for the digitization of customer relationships, we have the right solution for your customer journey management. BSI studio helps you close the gaps between the individual touchpoints and to make an end-to-end customer journey out of them. BSI Studio helps you identify and shape the needs, wishes and expectations between the touchpoints and thereby ensure that each customer is accompanied along his or her very personal journey. Customer data is used intelligently: What feedback does the customer provide, what are the pain points and where do they experience moments of truth? BSI Studio uses these insights to create continuous, cross-touchpoint and personalized customer journeys. In this way, you have your customer journey management under control and can say to your customers: “Have a nice customer journey!”

Customer Journey Management: Von Touchpoints über Stories zu überzeugenden Kundenerlebnissen

Customer Journey Management:
Von Touchpoints über Stories
zu überzeugenden Kundenerlebnissen

Dank Customer Journey Management zu Kundenerlebnissen mit Wow-Effekt

Sie wollen begeisternde Kundenerlebnisse schaffen, um loyale Kunden zu gewinnen und sich vom Wettbewerb abzuheben? Der Kunde von heute ist anspruchsvoll. Auf seiner Reise vom Bedürfnis zum Kauf und darüber hinaus erwartet er einheitliche, relevante und persönliche Kundenerlebnisse – über alle Touchpoints und organisatorischen Grenzen hinweg. Ihre Kunden sammeln bei jeder Interaktion mit Ihrem Unternehmen Eindrücke und formen so ihre Meinung zu Ihnen und Ihren Services. Kunden teilen die positiven und negativen Erfahrungen, die sie im Laufe ihrer Customer Journey machen, mit anderen: Eine schlechte Bewertung, ein enthusiastischer Tweet, eine Empfehlung an einen Freund. Durch ein professionelles Customer Journey Management stellen Sie fest, wo Friktionen entstehen oder Wege abgebrochen werden. Sie erhalten Hinweise zum «goldenen Weg zu mehr Erfolg», behalten den Überblick über Ihre Touchpoints – und gestalten überzeugende Kundenerlebnisse.

Customer Journeys gestalten: Ihre Herausforderung, unser Spezialgebiet

Die Digitalisierung hat die Arbeit von Marketeers und die Erwartungen an das Marketing von Grund auf verändert. Die Menge der unternehmenseigenen und -fremden Touchpoints wächst stetig. Ihre Kunden erwarten von Ihnen, dass Sie ihre Bedürfnisse, Wünsche und Probleme erkennen und ihnen individuellen Service bieten. Sie fordern Sofort-Service nach dem Motto «Ich, alles, sofort und überall». Ihre Vorgesetzten wollen Ergebnisse sehen. Mit einem professionellen Customer Journey Management bekommen Sie beides in den Griff.

End-to-end und Touchpoint-übergreifend

Customer Journey Management ist mehr als die Optimierung einzelner Touchpoints. Es geht darum, Silo- und Kanal-übergreifend Geschichten mit einem klar definierten Anfang und Schluss zu erzählen, um Erlebnisse zu schaffen, die bleiben. Customer Journey Management heisst, die Bedürfnisse, Wünsche und Erwartungen Ihrer Kunden zu erkennen, zu gestalten und dafür zu sorgen, dass jeder Kunde auf seiner ganz persönlichen Reise begleitet wird – von A bis Z. Denn egal, welchen Weg ein Kunde einschlägt, seine Customer Journey muss durchgängig und stimmig sein.

Von Touchpoints über Journeys zur Customer Experience

Customer Journey Management beginnt bei der Identifikation aller relevanten Touchpoints. Nur wenn bekannt ist, wo Ihre Kunden mit Ihnen interagieren, wie diese Interaktion aussieht und welche Erfahrungen sie dabei sammeln, können Customer Journeys erfolgreich geplant und umgesetzt werden. Denn Customer Journeys beginnen meist weit vor dem eigentlichen Produktkauf oder der Inanspruchnahme eines Service und können in ihrer Länge und Komplexität variieren. Erfolgreiches Customer Journey Management mündet schliesslich in positive Customer Experience als dem Gesamteindruck, den Kunden aufgrund aller für sie bedeutsamen Erlebnisse mit einem Unternehmen gewinnen.

Erfolgreiches Customer Journey Management berücksichtigt die Tatsache, dass Kundenreisen häufig vor dem eigentlichen Produktkauf beginnen, danach noch weitergehen können und häufig mehrere unternehmensnahe und -ferne Touchpoints umspannen.

Die Software für Customer Journey Management

BSI Studio, der Marketing-Automation-Plattform ist Ihr starker Partner in Sachen Customer Journey Management. Unsere Lösung hilft Ihnen, die relevanten Touchpoints sinnvoll zu verbinden und eine End-to-end Customer Journey daraus zu machen. Kundendaten werden intelligent genutzt: Was gibt der Kunde für Feedback, was sind Pain Points und wo erlebt er seine Moments of Truth? Diese Insights nutzt BSI Studio für die Schaffung durchgängiger, Touchpoint-übergreifender und personalisierter Customer Journeys. So haben Sie Ihr Customer Journey Management im Griff.

Mehr zu BSI Studio

Was ist eigentlich eine Customer Journey?

Die Customer Journey umspannt den gesamten Bereich von der ersten Begegnung mit einer Marke oder einem Produkt, über die Bedarfserkennung und den Kauf bis hin zur Nutzung eines Produkts oder einer Dienstleistung und die Phase danach. Sie umfasst eine Abfolge von Touchpoints und hat einen klar definierten Anfang und Schluss.

5 Argumente für professionelles Customer Journey Management

  • Synchronisierung der Interaktionen an den einzelnen Touchpoints für ein stimmiges Gesamtbild
  • Höhere Kundenzufriedenheit dank individueller Begleitung von Anfang bis Ende
  • Positive Auswirkungen auf Verkauf, Retention und Service-Kosten
  • Schaffung positiver Customer Experience und Steigerung der Kundenloyalität
  • Differenzierungsmöglichkeiten gegenüber den Wettbewerbern

Wie geht erfolgreiches Customer Journey Management?

Customer Journey Management beginnt in der Führungsetage: Nur wenn Entscheider davon überzeugt sind, dass sich die konsequente Ausrichtung eines Unternehmens auf den Kunden lohnt, kann die Mission gelingen. Als nächstes geht es darum, die relevanten Unternehmens-Touchpoints zu ermitteln. Dann müssen Sie evaluieren, welche Erfahrungen Ihre Kunden mit Ihnen machen. Um herauszufinden, was Ihre Kunden bewegt, gilt es Fragen zu stellen, gut zuzuhören und das Kundenfeedback zentral zu verwalten. Diese Insights nutzen Sie dann für die Entwicklung passender Customer Journeys. Dabei helfen Ihnen intelligente Tools, bei denen alle Touchpoints und Kanäle Ihres Unternehmens zusammenfliessen und Kundendaten zentral abgelegt sind. Diese werten die Daten aus und zeigen Ihnen auf, wie, wo und wann Sie Ihre Kunden begeistern können. Der Weg zu Wow-Effekten ist geebnet.

«Nur wenn man das Kundenerlebnis mit den Augen der Kunden selbst betrachtet – und das während der gesamten Customer Journey – kann man wirklich verstehen, wie man seine Leistung sinnvoll verbessert.»

McKinsey & Company, 2016«From touchpoints to journeys: seeing the world as customers do»

Kundenbrille aufsetzen, bitte!

Wissen Sie, wann, weshalb und auf welchem Weg ein Kunde mit Ihrem Unternehmen in Kontakt tritt? Warum er genau bei Ihnen kauft? Harmonieren Ihre Kommunikations-, Vertriebs- und Servicekanäle miteinander? Bieten Sie Erlebnisse, die Kunden nicht nur zufriedenstellen, sondern begeistern? Mit diesen Fragen starten Sie Ihre Reise in Richtung individualisierter Customer Journeys. Die Kundenbrille als Startpunkt eines professionellen Customer Journey Managements.

Jetzt Customer Journeys managen!

Wünschen Sie einen Beratungstermin zum Thema Customer Journey Management? Gerne zeigen wir Ihnen, wie Sie mit BSI Studio massgeschneiderte, konsistente und relevante Customer Journeys designen, automatisiert ausführen und überwachen können.

Anfrage senden

Kontaktformular

Customer Journey Management – Step für Step:

  1. Commitment für die Mission «Kundenbrille aufsetzen»
  2. Bereichs- und abteilungsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit fördern
  3. Kundenbedürfnisse erkennen und ernst nehmen
  4. Pleasure Points und Pain Points identifizieren
  5. Touchpoints ermitteln, abbilden und Daten zusammenführen
  6. Software für Customer Journey Management evaluieren
  7. Mit passenden Tools Customer Journeys designen
  8. Im Tool Customer Journeys automatisiert ausführen und optimieren
  9. Den Erfolg von Customer Journeys messen, vergleichen und daraus lernen
  10. Kunden mit personalisierten, massgeschneiderten Customer Journeys begeistern
Keine Customer Journey ist wie die andere. Professionelles Customer Journey Management berücksichtigt diese Tatsache und ermöglicht massgeschneiderte Customer Journeys mit Wow-Effekt.

Leseempfehlung: In unserer Customer-Loyalty-Studie erfahren Sie, wie Kunden zu Markenbotschaftern werden.

Studie entdecken